Tags

, , , ,

Do you think it’s normal to grieve after a major loss? I used to.

In graduate school, we were taught that grieving was normal and we learned about the five stages of the grieving process developed by Elizabeth Kübler-Ross. I used to explain this psychological theory to my clients and students as well.

Elizabeth Kübler-Ross having tea with Mother Teresa

Elizabeth Kübler-Ross having tea with Mother Teresa

In fact, I went through my own very painful and devastating grief when my late husband passed away. I think it’s safe to say that most people assume that it’s normal to grieve a major loss, such as the death of a loved one. Here are examples of other losses:

  • separation
  • divorce
  • the loss of your job
  • the end of an important friendship

But is it really normal or just common? . . .

Read the full article in my monthly newsletter, Unforgettable Embrace. Don’t miss a single issue! Click Here to Subscribe Now!


