Tags

, , , ,

Man with his face in his hands

The other evening, I was talking with a man who said to me, “Suzanne, you’re a Relationship Coach. Do you think it’s possible to be in love with two people at the same time?” I could hear the concern in his voice, as well as a hint of pride.

“Yes, I do think you can be in love with two people at the same time,” I said. “We’re human, and we can experience many emotions with different people, even conflicting emotions toward the same person.” I knew that he probably felt two different types of love for these two people. I also knew that there was more to the story . . . because this man was married.

What happened? he had been struggling with conflicts in his marriage for a long time and felt very angry with his wife. He strayed from his marriage and met another woman. Over time, they grew very close and he fell in love with the “other woman.” Now, he longed to be with her instead of his wife.

To read more of this excerpt, get access to this and all my newsletters here.

